The Bournemouth & District Women’s Bowling Association Finals Day took place at Southbourne Bowling Club on Friday 20th. July 2018. After the recent hot weather the cooler conditions were a relief to the semi-finalists in the morning and the finalists in the afternoon.

The Singles Final was between 2013 Champion Kim Tavener (Moordown) and 2017 Fours winner Sue Dadson (Southbourne). Tavener started the strongest and put together a string of nine winning ends to lead

15-3. Then when resident bowler Dadson picked up two shots on the 16th. end she immediately switched to a shorter length. This tactic paid dividends and the Southbourne bowler closed the gap to 14-15. Tavener then re-established an 18-14 lead, but was once again pegged back by Dadson who picked up three shots before exchanging ends. Then when leading 20-18 Tavener landed the coup de grace to end an intriguing contest and to take the Singles Trophy 21-18.

Kim Tavener’s Semi-final pairing was against Hazel Gabriel (Boscombe Cliff). Tavener had an indifferent start and trailed 4-3. Then Tavener changed gear and never looked back, eventually winning 21-7.

Whereas Sue Dadson’s semi-final opponent Janet Price (West Moors) proved to be much sterner opposition. After seventeen ends Price was leading 20-16, then Dadson won the last four ends to snatch a 21-20 victory and a place in the Final.

The Pairs Final was contested between Braeside’s Gladys Pegram and Joan Brooks, and the Pelhams duo of Jenny Cooper and Pat Horgan. By the eighth end the Braeside pairing had established a 10-5 lead. Then Cooper and Horgan found the line and hit a golden patch and by the nineteenth end were leading 22-13. Pegram and Brooks won the last two ends to leave Cooper and Horgan as 22-17 winners of the Pairs Trophy.

In the Semi-Finals the Pelhams pair defeated the Southbourne duo of Debbie Dance and Ellie Wilson. The Pelhams recovered from a 15-12 deficit after nineteen ends to win 17-15. In their semi Pegram and Brooks overcame the Bournemouth Electric pair Sandie Walton and Linda Watson (21-16).

The Fours Final: There was an explosive start to this final as the Boscombe Cliff quartet of Lynda Banister, Marion Bacon, Lorraine Lovell and Wendy Harvey picked up a “Hot Shot” on the first end. Their opponents, Branksome Park’s Monica Arkley, Liz Frew, Val King and Lola Barker appeared to have recovered by winning the next two ends. But the Cliff crew regrouped and by the ninth end were leading 21-3. Broadstone skip Lola Barker rallied her troops to win eight of the last twelve ends, finally going down 28-23 leaving Boscombe Cliff squad as the Fours Champions.

In the Semi-Finals Boscombe Cliff reached the Final after defeating the Pelhams squad of Anne Le Feaux, Jenny Lewis, Wendy Watton and Val Charig (18-17). It was touch and go for the Cliff conquerors who needed seven shots from the last two ends to progress to the final.

Similar story in the other semi-final. The Branksome Squirrels won four of the last five ends to defeat their New Milton opponents Pat Akerman, Chris Carter, Barbara Shields and Doris Gethings (17-14).

The Triples Final produced another exciting finish between the Southbourne trio of Diana Trim, Sue Dawe and Barbara Lunnun, and the West Moors triple Val Baxter, Pauline Jepson and Mavis Riddington. It was nip and tuck all through the match, and going into the last end the score stood at 13-13. Then with her last wood Moors skip Mavis Riddington replaced Southbourne’s shot wood to win 14-13 and the Triples Crown.

In the Semi-Finals the Southbourne rink had a resounding 17-5 victory over Brockenhurst who conceded the game after fourteen ends. Whereas West Moors recovered from a 13-12 deficit to win 20-15 against Broadstone-Wessex.

At the end of proceedings all of the Finalists joined their President Elaine Campbell and her Association Officers for a cream tea in the Southbourne Bowling Pavilion. The Trophies will be presented at the Ladies Annual Luncheon and Prize Giving on Wednesday 14th. November at the Carrington House Hotel.