Bournemouth Open Bowls Tournament 2015 Results

Bournemouth Bowls Tournament 2015

The 98th Bournemouth Open Bowls drew to a close at Argyll Bowls Club on Saturday 8 August. Attracting players from throughout the UK, the tournament was played on a number of greens across Bournemouth – the weather was kind to the tournament, and the bowls was excellent.

Men’s Singles Results

The Men’s Singles title went to Rae Graham from Lockerbie, along with the Melbourne Cup and a cheque for £1500. The runner-up was Rick Gallagher from Carlisle, and the pair entertained the spectators with some fine bowling, with Graham triumphing 21-18.

The semi-finals saw Graham beat Stuart Irwin of Aspatria 21-11, and Gallagher claimed a 21-15 win over Scott Edwards of Sussex.

Pairs Results

Last year’s runner-up Wayne Wilgress from Norfolk was joined by his club-mate John Tufts to take on Connor Hayes and Callum Sharp of Old Dean, Surrey. In a match that looked like it could go either way, the youngsters from Surrey eventually saw off the old guard to win 22-10.

Connor Hayes and Callum Sharp walked off with Earnest Dean Challenge Cup and a cheque for £500.

Hayes and Sharp beat Rick Gallagher, Carlisle Subscription and Peck Orchard, Silloth to reach the finals, while Willgress and Tufts beat local team of Chris Daniels and Michael Hutley from Boscombe Cliff.

Triples Results

The Eldridge family, Christian, Norman and Stephen from Whitchurch had a tight match against the West Country team of Pete Hutchins, Rob Honeywell and Richard Avent from Torbay, Kings and New Plymouth, but the West Country team triumphed with a 17-13 victory.

Hutchins, Honeywell and Avent claimed the Ivor Challenge Bowl and prize money of £300.

Mixed Pairs

The Mixed Pairs saw Rick Gallagher back in action with his partner Sue Dillon from Richmond Park. A comfortable win over Rob Honeywell, Kings and Val Davis of Torquay saw Gallagher and Dillon take the James King Challenge Vase and a cheque for £250.

Ladies Tournament

This tournament was based at Moordown Bowls Club and the competition was fierce. Joan Penfold from Atherley Bowls Club took top honours after beating Poole Park’s Caroline Wilson. Joan, who was the runner-up in last years final, was presented with the Carne-Stephenson Trophy and a cheque for £400.

Ladies Triple

Caroline Wilson and Sharon Davies were joined this year by Katy Smith to defend the Triples title. The faced the Broadstone-Wessex team of Ros Valentine, Jenny Cutler and Vicki Miller. After trailing 13-12 Smith, Wilson and Davies came back to win 17-15, and took the Taverner Vase and £150 in prize money.

Ladies Pairs

Moordown bowlers were on home ground to face Caroline Richardsn of Dalbeatttie and Sylvia Postill from Richmond Park. The visitors triumphed over the locals, winning the Moordown Bowl ad £200.

The Mayor of Bournemouth, Councillor John Adams, presented the prizes.



Bowlaway hopes everyone enjoyed their week of bowling and we look forward to seeing you next year at the 99th Bournemouth Open Bowls Tournament